(Little Suite for Band)

Year of composition: 2008

Length: 12′ approx.
Grade: 4/5
Instrumentation: Symphonic Band (View details)


I. Intrata
II. Vals Waltz
III. Nana Lullaby
IV. Galop


October 4th, 2008. Palacio de la Música, Buñol (Valencia)
I International Congress of Band Music
Symphonic Band CAM of Bétera
Conductor: Luis Serrano Alarcón



Pequeña Suite para Banda is a piece that Luis Serrano Alarcón composed in 2008 in a moment where, after the exhausting effort of composing his work for double symphonic band entitled Las Hijas de Eris (The Daughters of Eris), the author needed to write something light and less ambitious in a structural sense. The result was this 12-minute piece with reduced instrumentation set in four brief movements: Intrata, Vals (Waltz), Nana (Lullaby) and Galop. The relaxed –and even humorous– character that permeates the composition is influenced greatly by composers such as Jean Françaix, Nino Rota and Shostakovich, and other obvious influences come from the chamber music works of the 19th and early 20th centuries.