For Brass Quintet and Wind Ensemble

Year of composition: 2006

Commissioned by Agrupació Artística Musical of Denia (Spain)
International Competition for Original Band Composition. Corciano (Italy). First Prize 2006


Length: 14′
Grade: Soloists 6, Wind Ensemble 4
Instrumentation: Brass quintet (2 tpts, hn, tbn, tuba) and Wind Ensemble (View details)
(It exists arrangement for Brass Quintet and Piano as well)

Festival Internacional de Bandas de Música Wonju Tattoo 2006
Chiak Art Center. Wonju. South Korea

Strombor Brass Quintet
Symphonic Band Agrupació Artística Musical of Denia (Spain)
Conductor: Frank De Vuyst



The sound of a flute breaks the silence of night. The four notes of the melody ebb and flow, languidly, serenely, combined with the deep scent of jasmine flowers, forming delicate whirls that move through the narrow streets of white-washed walls. Are these not the first four notes Ravel used to introduce his marvellous Rapsodia Española? The profound and melancholic tetrachord gradually gains strength; the evocative, delicate harmonies of the introduction make way for the vehement expression of old passions, of adolescent dreams that seemed lost in the remotest part of the memory, and which finally explode. This explosion is impulsive yet short (in tune with life) and dissolves once again into the peace of the night whilst, in the distance, the faint ringing of a bell announces the coming of daybreak. The shadows start a tormented dance to the sound of a mysterious marimba and then gradually disappear. The first rays of daylight stream through, painting the walls and windows with an orange hue. Claps, flamenco singing and commotion can be heard. And this is when the dance begins. It is an uninhibited dance that celebrates the dawn of a new day, and, even though it may seem pretentious, it is a dance that bursts with the penetrating aroma of rosemary in every one of its notes, with the heady taste of muscatel, the marvellous blue of the Mediterranean sky and so many other things that impel us to love this land.

Luis Serrano Alarcón, preface of the printed edition