Year of composition: 1995

Length: 8′ 
Instrumentationn: Brass Quintet

May 2nd, 1996

Palau de la Música of Valencia (Spain) 
Brass Quintet “Quinteto Mediterráneo”

Una de Aventuras, the first published work of the Alarcon’s catalogue, is a short overture for Brass Quintet which pays tribute to the film music. The formal approach of the piece is very classical: A majestic introduction is followed by the exposition of two contrasting themes (the first one is lively while the second theme is slow and expresive). After a development characterised by the presence of a fugato, a brilliant recapitulation of both themes ends in a Coda in which we can find the initial majestic idea and, finally, a concise but conclusive Presto.