For Alto Sax and Piano

Year of transcription: 2007

Length: 27′
Grade: Soloist 6, Piano 6
Instrumentation: Alto Saxophone and Piano
(Reduction from the
original version for Alto Sax, Jazz Trio and Symphonic Band)


I. Andante – Tempo di Tango – Con vivacità – Andante Maestoso
II. Balada – Tempo de Milonga – Calmato
III. Molto Allegro


Premiere of the original version
July 16th, 2004. Palau de la Música . Valencia
Carlos Marquina (A. Sx); Moisés Bautista (Piano); Oscar Cuchillo (D.B.); Edu Fort (Drums)
Symphonic Band C.I.M of Benimaclet (Valencia)
Conductor: Luis Serrano Alarcón


The Philharmonic Winds (Singapore)
Kenneth Tse, Alto Sax; Luis Serrano Alarcón, conductor



Concertango is, first of all, a work of fusion. On one hand an instrumental fusion, combining a classical symphonic group with a jazz trio (piano, bass, drums). Above these two groups the saxophone soloist is the absolute protagonist. On the other hand a style fusion. We can find in this piece different stylistic reminiscences, from symphonic music from the beginning of 20th century, till real jazz elements. And above all, the tango is always present, specially the person of Astor Piazzolla. The title, a clear reference to one of Piazzolla’s most famous pieces makes very clear from the very beginning that Piazzolla was the real inspiration of this piece.